April 16: UK Business Innovation and Skills Committee - announcement of oral evidence session in Open Access inquiry

Stevan Harnad amsciforum at GMAIL.COM
Thu Apr 11 09:40:00 EDT 2013

[Forwarded with permission]

*From: *"MORRIS, Pam" <MORRISPR at parliament.uk>
*Subject: **Business Innovation and Skills Committee - announcement of oral
evidence session in Open Access inquiry*
*Date: *11 April, 2013 8:53:52 AM EDT
*To: *"MORRIS, Pam" <MORRISPR at parliament.uk>

*Business, Innovation and Skills Committee*
* *
*Select Committee Announcement No.60*
*Thursday 11 April, 2013***
*For immediate release*


*The Business, Innovation and Skills Committee will be holding its first
evidence session for its inquiry into Open Access on Tuesday 16 April.*

*Tuesday 16 April*

*Committee Room 6, Palace of Westminster*

At 9.30am:
·        Dr Audrey McCulloch, Chief Executive, Association of Learned and
Professional Society Publishers
·        Professor Chris Wickham, Vice-President and Publications
Secretary, the British Academy
·        Dr Cameron Neylon, Advocacy Director, Public Library of Science
·        Dr Alicia Wise, Director of Universal Access, Reed Elsevier

At 10.30am:
·        Professor Stevan Harnad
·        David Sweeney, Director (Research, Innovation and Skills) HEFCE
·        Professor Douglas Kell, Information Champion, RCUK
·        Dr Alma Swan, Key Perspectives Consultancy and Director of
Advocacy, SPARC Europe

12 noon:
·        Dr Martin Paul Eve
·        Professor Andrew Massey, Political Studies Association
·        Professor Ian Walmsley, Pro Vice-Chancellor for Research at Oxford
University, The Russell Group
·        Professor Sir Ian Diamond, Chair of Universities UK’s Research
Policy Network

The sessions will be open to the public on a first come, first served
basis. There is no system for the prior reservation of seats in Committee
Rooms. It is advisable to allow about 20 minutes to pass through security
checks. Committee Rooms and timings are subject to change.

* *
* *
*Committee Membership is as follows:*
Chair: Mr Adrian Bailey MP (Lab) (West Bromwich West)
Mr Brian Binley MP (Con) (Northampton South)                        Paul
Blomfield MP (Lab) (Sheffield Central)
Katy Clark MP (Lab) (North Ayrshire and Arran)                      Mike
Crockart MP (Lib Dem) (Edinburgh West)
Caroline Dinenage MP (Con) (Gosport)
Julie Elliott MP (Lab) (Sunderland Central)
Rebecca Harris MP (Con) (Castle Point)                                  Ann
McKechin MP (Lab) (Glasgow North)
Mr Robin Walker MP (Con) (Worcester)
 Nadhim Zahawi MP (Con) (Stratford upon Avon)**
* *
* *
*Media Information*: David Foster fosterda at parliament.uk   020 719
7556/07917 488729
*Committee Website*: www.parliament.uk/bis**
*Specific Committee Information*:  biscom at parliament.uk/ 020 7219 5777/5779
*Watch committees and parliamentary debates online*:  www.parliamentlive.tv
* *
*Publications / Reports / Reference Material:* Copies of all select
committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge
St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474).
Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research
papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more,
can be found on www.parliament.uk

-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://mail.asis.org/pipermail/sigmetrics/attachments/20130411/7d94c96e/attachment.html>

More information about the SIGMETRICS mailing list